Thursday, December 31, 2009

Caitlin's Top Ten Favorite Movies From 2009


My favorite movie from this year.. 500 Days of Summer (It was just so my type of movie.)

My least favorite of the year.. He's Just Not That Into You (Utterly depressing, and all of the women were co-dependant messes.)

My top ten favorite's from the year..

1. 500 Days of Summer (I will buy this movie.)

2. Star Trek (I could watch this one over and over.)

3. Up (Seriously one of my favorite cartoons ever.. and YES I cried.)

4. Zombieland (I didn't see this making the cut when I saw the previews. But it was hysterical and Woody Harrelson was made for this role.)

5. Inglourious Basterds (Sure it was violent, but I actually really enjoyed this movie. Brad Pitt was awesome in it.)

6. The Proposal (You can't go wrong with Ryan Reynolds with his shirt off..ever.)

7. The Blind Side (A movie with a lot of heart. Had I seen this movie before all the hype it might have crept higher on the list, but I felt it was just slightly too long. Still an incredible story and awesome movie.)

8. Taken (Totally cheesy acting, but still really intense, a perfect popcorn muncher.)

9. 17 Again (Surprisingly funny.)

10. Twilight (But only because it was so bad, it was good.)

Monday, December 7, 2009

The Amazing Race Finale


A few weeks back we saw Gary and Matt get eliminated. The following week we saw Brian and Ericka get saved by a non elimination round. Last week we saw The Globetrotters take a 4 hour penalty that put Brian and Ericka into the final 3. Yesterday we had the finale with Brian and Ericka, Meghan and Cheyne and Sam and Dan from here on to be known as the Marrieds, the Blonde's, and the Bickering Brothers. So now you should be all caught up.
The teams started out the final leg of the race heading towards fabulous Las Vegas (I think it's a law in Nevada to add the fabulous) on the same flight. Once in Vegas they had to find Elvis and The Little White Chapel. Marrieds and Blonde's and Brothers all got to The King at the same time and waited for him to finish his song before getting their clue. The whole Elvis/Wedding thing just felt awkward and lasted to long in my opinion. Anyways, after that it was off to do some repelling off the side of The Mandalay Bay, face first. Brian and Ericka got there first and Ericka seemed to have fun plummeting down the hotel. The Blonde's were next to arrive and I was a little shocked that Chyene did this one after making Meghan do all the other hard roadblocks on the race. It was fun to watch Ericka build a lead over Chyene whose fear of heights seemed to slow him down. The Brothers, doomed by a poor taxi driver, arrived last but Sam was the quickest down the building and made up most of their lost time.
The teams next clue took them to The Mirage where they got to take part of Love by strapping into a bouncing/elastic harness and being shot into the air by their partner to grab a bouquet of flowers hanging from the ceiling. The Marrieds were the first to arrive but Ericka had a meltdown at the worst time and from this point one you counted them out. The Blonde's finished first followed by The Brothers. The next clue told them to go to the most famous in Morocco. The Blonde's had no idea where this was (the Monte Carlo) and lost their lead. The Brothers who couldn't even say Morocco were the first to get to the Monte Carlo, thanks to a well placed phone call, and had to count out 1 million in poker chips. The Marrieds showed up next after what seemed like forever at The Mirage and The Blonde's after driving all over the strip finally figured out where they needed to go. During the counting of the chips the Brothers continued to fight and it effected their counting the chips. The Blonde's finished first, then The Brothers and The Marrieds. Then they had to go to the MGM Grand to find Mr. Las Vegas who turned out to be Wayne Newton. The blonde's knew who he was right away, the Brothers not so much and who knows what the Marrieds thought since we never saw this. Mr. Newton told the teams to find his house and the finish line. Not shockingly the Blonde's won the race to the finish line and the million dollar prize, I wonder if it was in poker chips? The Brothers came in second and The Marrieds in third.
I am fine with The Blonde's winning because they really stayed calm under the pressure of the race overall and the final leg in particular. I think if The Brothers could have just stopped fighting for this leg they would have been the winners but who knows. I would have loved to seen The Marrieds win but didn't think it would happen since they were always just so close but not quite close enough the entire race. Overall it was a good season I thought even if there were no real "villains" to root against. Are you pleased with the outcome? Who was your favorite team this race? And who would you label the most villain like?

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Survivor Recap

I know at first I wasn't the biggest fan of this season of Survivor but since the tribes merged I am loving it! I love watching Russell cause havoc, love the way he keeps finding the hidden idols even after everyone else knows he has done it twice, love that people still trust him even after he keeps picking off people that are threats to him. If I was on the jury and he was in the final 2 he would get my vote. Say what you will about the way he plays the game but you have to admit he is out playing everyone else this season by a miles.


Tonight we got more ramblings from Shambo who I would not want to go against for fear that she would have a dream about me and make me her next target like she did to Dave tonight who simply (and justifiably) asked when her chicken soup would be ready (2 hours for soup? Really??). If Shambo wins the million I would be shocked. Dave was lucky enough that Russell slipped up and told John that he had the idol. This made John a threat and Russell wisely got ride of him with the support of all of John's former tribe members save Shambo who was sold that Dave would be the one to go next because she saw it in a dream. Seeing as Russell risked losing Shambo as a solid vote by keeping Dave and going against his word to her, it should be interesting to see what happens next. It also looks like Russell's former tribe mates are thinking that Russell may no longer be an asset which would be a mistake at this point I think. The only reason the four remain Foa Foa are still here is because of Russell and they would be wise to keep him around for a little while longer, just not long enough to get to the final 2 because if he is there he would win since the jury so far is made up of all blindsides that all blame someone other then Russell for putting them there. If they only knew...

Thursday, November 19, 2009

So You Think You Can Dance


Another week of So You Think You Dance has come and gone. Channing and Kevin were the two eliminated this week. Am I heart broken? No, but I did think Channing could dance. She may not be the most personable dancer, but she is a really good dancer. As for Kevin, when I compare him to the other guy dancers I just think he's okay.

I think my favorite couple right now is Legacy and Kathryn. They're both like-able and talented.

My favorite dance was probably the contemporary piece or the pop jazz. They were both really good.

So who do you think will make it into the top ten? My guess is that Victor will go home, but am a little unsure about which girl.

Thursday, November 12, 2009

So You Think You Can Dance


After Tuesday's performance show, I fell in love with Jakob and Legacy's dancing. They're fabulous aren't they? What's funny, is I usually like female dancers better. But this season I love the guys.

I was sad to see Pauline go, I felt like it should have been Mollee. I just don't think Mollee and her partner are quite ready to dance on the show. Their dance was a train wreck and I think Nigel was right when he said they were acting young. Not as much with what they were saying as much as how they dance.

Although I do think Nigel got a little too mad at them the following night. I don't think he needed to tell the audience to shut up, I just think he was upset that a good couple had to fall into the bottom three.

I think my favorite dance this week was Mandy Moore's Jazz routine. I loved the character that Jakob brought to it.

I'm excited for next week, hopefully we see a Mia Michael's routine.

Date Night Trailer

Need a Laugh? Watch this.

Sunday, November 8, 2009

The Amazing Race Recaps




Last week saw the teams go to Holland or the Netherlands or whatever you prefer to call it. I call it awesome. Counting bells, clogs, salted fish, crazy farm golf, carnival games. Really what more could you need? Brian and Ericka had a terrible leg and due to not reading the clue so did their feet. I don't know how far I could walk in clogs but I am sure I wouldn't have gone as far as they did. But since they should have been on a bike I don't feel too bad for them. I for sure thought they were goners this week but once again it just proves that you should never give up. Why? Because as bad as their leg was it was worse for the poker players. The girls had no luck hitting the bell at the carnival then switched to golf, then back to the bell, them back to golf. They just could catch a break and it the end exhausted themselves into last place where. Eventually the quite the race and were eliminated, which is too bad because they were starting to grow on me.



This week the racers where off to Sweden where they raced to a theme park that I totally want to visit now and then played a little ring toss with the Travelocity Gnome before getting to go blow some stuff up. All the teams seemed to have a good time, but none more then the Globetrotters. They just seem like they are having a blast on the race. The part of the race brought back an old Race task, unrolling bails of hay to find a clue. The last time the Race did this task one team was there for 10 hours and unrolled over 100 bails of hay. I have been looking forward to this ever since I say it last weeks preview. And I don't feel let down. The brothers were the first to arrive and started fighting right off the bat. Sam was unrolling the bails and Dan seemed to think it a good a idea to yell at him. Not very helpful, then Meghan and Cheyne showed up and they too must have drank the fighting water since they were arguing most of this leg as well. Meghan was picked to unroll the hay after Cheyne wouldn't make a decision as to who should do it. Then the Globetrotters showed up and Big Easy was selected to unroll, perhaps this was his B-day gift to Flight Time. The Globetrotters were the first to find the flag in the hay and the first to finish this leg and have become the team to beat if they can keep running clean legs of the race. Meghan and Cheyne finished second, followed by Brian and Ericka. Props to Brian for bringing things into perspective for Dan by telling him the task wasn't that easy and his yelling at his brother wasn't helping. This left left the Brothers and Gary & Matt left on the field. Finally Sam found the flag and Dan broke down at the mat feeling terrible about how he acted this leg. But the real winner of this leg was Gary, the oldest racer left, who kept going until he found his flag even though there were no teams left. And it's a good thing he did because this was a non elimination leg and they will need all the extra time they can get next week for their speed bump. I am loving the Amazing Race! Who are your picks to win of the remaining 5 teams? Do you think Gary & Matt can fight their way back? How would you have reacted during the hay roll? Sadly if I was there with one of my brothers I think I would have acted like the Brothers with lots of yelling but I would have loved to have preformed like the Globetrotters who ran a great leg this time around. Comment away.

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Survivor Recaps

Last week Liz became the latest victim of Russell after she said she didn't trust him. Now I can't speak for the other people on the yellow tribe but wouldn't you find it odd that anytime somebody speaks out about or speaks against Russell they are then voted out? Okay, that might be giving the other 3 people too much credit, as the only reason they have made it this far is because they have kept their mouths shut, the only smart thing they have done.


This week the tribes merged and chaos broke out everywhere. Russell thought that he had the rest of his old tribe tied up and it seems like they will do his bidding but the purple tribe did make him nervous enough to play his idol at council even though he had nothing to worry about. I think this was do to the fact that he had pushed so hard to get Laura out, but since she (along with John) won immunity that wasn't going to happen. It was amazing how quickly almost every one's name got thrown out has the best person to be voted off. Well at least those people that spoke out the most. In the end Erik, whose plan it was to force out Russell's idol, was voted off. I think this was due mostly to him not being able to shut his mouth. Also the fact that he targeted Monica didn't seem to go over well with the rest of his former tribe. It's a simple number's game at this point and he should have convinced his tribe to vote out an old yellow tribe member. If he would have done this he would still be around, or he could have played his idol. But no, just like that we have a merged tribe and no hidden idols to worry about. If finally seems like the season is starting to pick up (Finally!). Next week looks like Russell may have some worrying to do and really it's about time the game plays him!

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

So You Think You Can Dance


Sorry life has been hectic. So I have missed posting on the first couple of shows. So a quick recap.

Billy Bell is off the show because of an illness. Luckily they are letting him come back next year. Noelle had an ankle injury. I was glad they gave her another chance to dance, and that they didn't cut her. I think she just needs to find her groove, and hopefully next week she will do well.

They replaced Billy with the Asian guy. Sorry, but I don't remember his name. He was fine, but I think he showed why they didn't pick him in the first place. He just needs a bit more experience. It will be interesting to see what he can do next season. He got cut the first week, but they are letting him come back, so it seemed like a good thing.

They also cut Ariana. It was sad because she was an amazing dancer. Her solo was killer. But someone had to go I guess.

Then yesterday they booted two of the tappers. Which I have to say didn't leave me that sad. I think tapping is really cool. You have to be really talented. But I just don't know how I feel about tappers on So You Think You Can Dance. I just don't know if they fit in. Especially in their solo's.

They cut Bianca (wasn't it funny how with Nigel's accent he was calling her Bianker?) and Phillip. I really liked Bianca last week, but this week I didn't love the dance she did. Phillip seemed nice, and they were both talented. But I was glad they kept who they did.

My favorite dances were Napolean and Tabitha's hip hop routine and Stacey Tookie's contemporary routine. I think all of the dancers shined in them. How good is Legacy getting? I am loving him. I also didn't think they gave Pauline enough credit for her dancing. She was so precise. I also laughed out loud when Ellenore did that alien thing. Too funny.

Overall I think the dances have been okay. I can't wait for a Mia Michaels routine. I think I didn't get into this week as much because it was a lot of ballroom stuff and a lot of the routines felt disjointed. That one where the Kate Bosworth look a like and her partner did that lift? It just felt awkward to watch. I am excited for next week.

Who are your favorite dancers so far?

Sunday, November 1, 2009

The Amazing Race: Episode 6

The first part of the past week's episode had the teams take on a spy-like mission to paddle out to a yacht, retrieve a watch, then head back to their waiting team mate to open a briefcase that contained their next clue. Most of the teams figured out quite quickly that the time on the watch was the code to open the briefcase except the Globetrotters who seemed to have a hard time figuring it out and this problem quickly put them in last place. Once they opened the briefcase they found a detour waiting for them: Gold or Glass. In gold the teams had to go to a local jewelry store and weigh out 500k worth of gold. Only problem is the price of gold fluctuates my the minute so teams had to work fast to get the right weight to equal 500k. In Glass the teams had to assemble hookahs using all the parts in a crate and matching the examples of pipes already put together. Meghan & Cheyne who were in first the whole race choose the Glass detour and quickly set out on building their hookahs until Meghan let the frustration and the heat of Dubai get to her and left Cheyne to build the hookahs basically on his own. Brian & Ericka choose Gold and it proved to be too hard for them and after a few attempts they were off to Glass. The brothers and the Poker players continued to be a good team and the Brothers were smart enough to bring a calculator on the race but not smart enough to figure out how much gold they needed. Good thing for them the Poker players were there and used the bothers calculator to figure it out and help both teams move on. The Globetrotters finally getting their code to the clue showed up at the Glass detour and saw that Brian & Ericka were still there after two hours and quickly opted to try gold were they were smart enough to ask to borrow a calculator form a store clerk and quickly caught up to Mika & Canaan who were trapped at the top of a water slide by Mika's fear of heights, water, and what I can only guess is winning. I don't have any idea of how long Mika & Canaan sat at the top of the water slide but knowing that the pit stop was so close I don't know that I would have been as nice as Canaan or as understanding of Mika's fear, it's a water slide after all. Once the Globetrotters showed up Mika & Canaan had two minutes to go down before having to step aside and let the Globetrotters go. I was sure this would be all the motivation that Mika needed but that thought proved incorrect as she stepped aside and let the Globetrotters, and a chance at a million buck, go sliding by. Once down Canaan went down the slide hopping the Mika would follow but she never did and they walked to the pit stop where Phil informed them they were done. It's a sad way to go and I am sure Mika will hold onto that for awhile but it made for great TV! What do you think? Would you have been as nice as Canaan was about the whole thing? Or would you have dumped Mika right then and there? (For the record I think I would have pushed her down the slide hopping she'd forgive me later.) I mean you know what you are signing up for on this show! Do you think the Globetrotter's were out of line my taunting Mika before her two minutes were up? Or was it just good game talk? (I have no issue with it, it's just a game.) And will they be able to bounce back from last place in tonight's episode? Comment Away.

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Survivor Recap

Yawn. This will be an easy recap. Why? Because nothing happened this week other then it's still raining. Okay that might be a little understated but really this has to be one of the most boring tribes in Survivor history. Perhaps its because it only seems like the show is focusing on Evil Russell but really can you blame them? Everyone else is dull. I mean stop complaining about the rain and do something about it. As long as there has been people there has been rain figure something out, make a better shelter, really just do something other then whine about the rain. If I am siding with Russell then there must be something wrong. To make matters worse the purple teams leader and hardest worker aka Other Russell had to leave the show after blacking out during a challenge. Both teams went to tribal, no one went home. Blah. Even though this weeks episode was new, it felt like a rerun. Can we just merge this people now to make this season a little more interesting. I mean really, I am getting bored and there are plenty of other shows on the Tivo waiting to be watched.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

The Amazing Race Recaps

Two weeks ago on The Amazing Race the big story was the elimination of Zev and Justin after they came in first. The reason is because somewhere along the leg Zev's passport was lost and after they failed to find it they were eliminated. It was a shame because they ran a great leg partly because they befriended a cab driver who seemed to know the area really well. Online after the show we found out that Zev's passport had been turned into the US Embassy in Cambodia after Justin accidentally dropped in when taking out his head light in a dark temple while they were looking for the monkey challenge. Since Zev and Justin where eliminated this gave the poker players the chance to race another day. It was a lot of fun to watch the teams act like a monkey but it was amazing how many teams had no idea who was in the picture. Who doesn't know who Jackie Kennedy is? I mean some of these teams aren't that young and should have known right away who she was!


This week we learned more about what the racers didn't know. When told to find the world's tallest building (I knew where this was right away, but I am a major geek apparently) in the Persian Gulf some teams (Sam and Dan) went to the airport and asked for tickets to the Persian Gulf. Who didn't know this was a region not a country? Do they not teach geography in school anymore? Brain and Ericka helped of the brothers (and many other teams this leg) and told them that they were going to Dubai, U.A.E. I wish I could have been on this leg, it looked like a blast between the Burj Dubai, the desert, and Ski Dubai the teams all seemed to make great memories. In the end Lance and Keri seemed to be more lost or lost more often then Mika and Canaan and came in last. Lance and Keri argued a lot during their short time on TAR but they seem to truly understand each other and took the elimination better then I would have expected.


It will be fun next week to see Mika and Canaan have a blow up at the top of the water slide. In a race for a million bucks I will throw almost anyone down a water slide lets hope Canaan thinks the same, just for pure entertainment purposes. Comment away with your favorite parts of these episodes and who you are rooting for.

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Survivor Recaps

Okay, I am two weeks behind on my Survivor recaps and I really don't recall all that much from the oldest episode other then the purple tribe went to their first tribal and Yasmin got sent home. If I was on this tribe I would have voted off Shambo after she lost a chicken because she "didn't know they could fly." A bird fly, who knew. But since Yas didn't help much around the camp, which is a valid point she was sent home. The purple tribe still has their numbers and I don't see that changing anytime soon.


In fact this weeks episode proved just that. The reward challenge was back. It involved eating seafood shakes that all looked gross. You had to keep all the shake down and the first team to 5 won. The purple tribe won steaks and other BBQ meats but in the course of winning they had to send one member to the yellow tribe. Russell chose to send Shambo since she had been there once before. Shambo didn't like this since that would mean she would miss the BBQ. Russell later said that he sent her as punishment for loosing the chicken. Cut to Shambo who keeps complaining that she really needed the protein from the meat. Guess what Sham, chicken has protein. Next time be more careful. Then Russell and Dave fought about a fire and the best way to start it blah, blah, blah. Perhaps because we haven't seen much of this tribe but I really don't care about any of them.


On to the immunity challenge. This one was all about weight. Two team members from each tribe had to hold onto a basket while opposing players threw in coconuts to weigh them down. Liz did surprisingly well but in the end the purple team overcame the other teams lack of basket shots to take the win. This sent the yellow tribe back to tribal but a rainstorm kept any of the castaways from running off and making plans. In the end the tribe voted Ashley off, perhaps because she lost the reward challenge or because she didn't seem like a physical player. If the yellow tribe keeps this up there won't be anyone left come merge time. Thoughts? Are you getting bored with this season? Are you finding it hard to pick a favorite or care about one tribe over the other? Are you glad the reward challenge and the immunity challenge are now separate?

Friday, October 9, 2009

The Biggest Loser


Okay, yes.. I'm behind. Let's do a quick recap.

They all split up into teams. Purple team (a.k.a. not the healthiest team) got put together because they were both in the hospital when the teams were choosing.

Week One: the eight teams emerged. They all worked hard, but the Black team (Alexandra & Julio) fell below the yellow line and the teams voted to boot Alexandra. (Who had an awesome transformation!)

Week Two: they had to all work together to lose the goal weight, and if they accomplished it, no one got kicked off. Which they did. (Kind of a boring week, that they tried to make interesting.)

Week Three: (would you rather week) We find out Tracey (a.k.a Crazy Eyes) from the purple team has a competitive edge to her. She decides she wants to take a two pound advantage for her team in exchange for working out without Bob and Jillian. Which I didn't think was that big of a deal. Then in the challenge, she wins and gets to play God. We find out, she may be a little unstable, and maybe getting a little too caught up in playing the game. Which I can't fault her for, but she is just coming off crazy and putting a huge target on her back.

During the weigh in Tracey gets to decide who from each team is going to weigh in for their team. The orange team and the red team fell below the yellow line. The red team "falls on the sword" for the orange team, since one of their players is the biggest in history of the show.

So Antoine and Sean are booted from the show. I was surprised by this elimination because I thought these guys had a real chance at winning. Plus who doesn't love their victory dance?

Bringing us to this week...

Week Four: The orange team won immunity. The brown team and the black team fell below the yellow line and they voted for the other half of the Black team (Julio) to leave. He kind of bugged me, so I didn't really care. He just seemed kind of lazy to me.

So far my top three favorites are:

-Daniel (Orange team)
-Green Team (Abby and Allen)
-Coach Mo (Purple team) I think I have a soft spot for him. He seems so nice.

The people that are getting on my nerves:

- Crazy Tracey (Purple team)
- Shay (Orange team) I'm getting sick of the crying "speeches" she keeps making. (I know I sound heartless, but it gets on my nerves.)
- Dina (Blue Team) I can't quite pinpoint why

Thursday, October 8, 2009

The fall season is here..

..and my tivo is backlogged. So that is part of why I haven't been posting. But here is an overview on my feelings so far..

My Tivo was set to record:

Monday's:

-How I Met Your Mother
-Dancing With The Stars

Tuesday's:

-The Biggest Loser

Wednesday's:

-Modern Family
-Cougar Town
-So You Think You Can Dance
-Glee
-America's Next Top Model

Thursday's:

-Survivor
-Flash Forward
-Community
-The Office
-Project Runway/Models of the Runway

Sunday's:

-The Amazing Race

So you can see why I am a tad behind.

Out of these I have already stopped watching Survivor, Cougar Town, and Dancing With the Stars

*I was new to Survivor and I just couldn't get into it with that crazy Russell guy. I think this is a good reality show for guys though.

*Cougar Town had it's funny moments. I really liked the actor that played her son, but in a whole, I wasn't impressed, it's a pretty sleazy plot and I can't see it going anywhere.

*Dancing With The Stars is boring me. My two favorites are Louie and Mya. I still have them recording, and I just fast forward to the dances I like and then find out who gets kicked off online. I'm sorry, but most of these people are not stars!

The two new shows that I am really loving this season are Modern Family (There isn't one episode I haven't laughed outloud at. Plus the dad lives in Utah, gotta support the locals.)

and Flash Forward. It's pretty intense, and I like that it is giving me something to watch and bite my nails through, while I wait for Lost to come back on.

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Quick Recaps: Survivor & Amazing Race

Wow. I am behind. Not only on posting but on watching TV as well; my Tivo is getting mighty full, so I will keep this brief but feel to share your thoughts in the comments.


Survivor: Ben got the boot as the yellow tribe proved that Russell didn't rule outright after all. I was surprised that Russell went along with Jaison's plan to out Ben but after he opened his trap at tribal it was all over for him. I still fear Russell and thinks he has too much power over this tribe but I have to give him points for playing the game his own way. The purple tribe continued to dominate the challenges and with the sheer number of people they have over the yellow team I don't see that ending anytime soon. Shambo has all but signed her eviction notice if her team ever finds out about what she really thinks of them. On another note are you ready for them to go back to one reward challenge and one immunity challenge per episode? This whole one challenge thing makes things a little dull, unless of course you are on the purple tribe them you love it.



Amazing Race: This week we learned that Brian & Ericka have a good comeback in them, lets see if it continues next week. Only one of the poker girls carried her wait this week in my opinion but I liked them more then I have in the past. The Globetrotters came in first and I am okay with that. Mika and Canaan did a little dance for the water dragon that I would have loved to seen more of or seen how long it took them to figure out that's not how you get the clue. Then there was Lance that guy is crazy but I loved it when they couldn't find the stamp and were running around lost. The best part is that they were like this the whole episode and I really don't know how they didn't end up in last after this leg. No, that honor went to Marcy and Ron the only team not to choose the psychical detour and in the end they just couldn't keep up. I am sorry to see them go but there exit is no great surprise. Now lets talk about next week. Who do you think is going to loose their passports? My money is on Lance and Keri if judging by this week alone.



Okay that's enough out of me. I will update the site later with my thoughts on Flashforward, Glee, Modern Family and Cougar Town. Let me know if there are any other shows you would like me to review. Chances are I am watching it...at some point.

Monday, September 28, 2009

The Amazing Race


The Amazing Race is back and just as good as ever. Before I get to my picks for favorite teams, a brief recap.

Eric and Lisa became the first team to get eliminated at the starting line. This year the teams had to find a licence plate of the first destination, Japan, and present it to Phil to get their tickets to Tokyo. It seemed that no teams noticed that the Japanese characters they needed to find on the licence plate were also on their clues. After a few trys some of the teams started to put it together. I would like to say that I would have noticed the characters at the top of the clue but I can understand why it was easily overlook in all the excitement. Never the less you should always read your clue very carefully on this show, if you don't it will always come back to bite you in the...well you know where. Eric and Lisa where the unlucky victims of this new twist and I can't say that I was sad to see them go, sorry. They just didn't seem like a team I would root for but now I will never know.


In Tokyo the teams had to go on a Japanese game show and swallow down a huge wasabi bomb that of course was on a roulette wheel. If they didn't get the wasabi then they got sushi (which to me would have been much worse then the wasabi) those teams that did get the wasabi had 2 minutes to eat it or risk thier luck on the wheel again. Once the teams had finished their wasabi bomb it was off to the streets of crowded Tokyo with a 20 game show audience members who they had to take to the pit stop. In the end, Maria and Tiffany came in last and without all their audience members. But in a twist that wasn't a shock it was a non-elimination round so they got a 2 hour penalty and the added speed bump the next leg.


The next leg was in Vietnam where the teams had to race on little wooden boats to a mud pit and them transfer mud to the roots of a tree before a local farmer would sign off and give them their next clue. Maria and Tiffany made quick work of the speed bump (which seemed way to easy by speed bump standards) and were back in the game. After the mud pit the teams race back to the mainland and one team member had to heard a group of unruly ducks over a small bridge and then back into their pen. A few teams (Sam/Dan, Zev/Justin, Gary/Matt) made quick work of this task but others (Garrett/Jessica, Brian/Ericka, Lance/Keri) seemed to have a hard time and the ducks quickly picked up on their frustrations. In the end Garrett and Jessica couldn't make up the time lost with the duck run and where eliminated and the end. Again I wasn't sad to see this team go either. Maybe that would have been different if we got to see more of them but what we did see didn't make them come off as a great team.



Now for the teams I like and their are a lot after the first episode. I really enjoy Zev and Justin and hope they make it all the way to end. My other teams to watch are the brothers Sam and Dan, the Harlem Globetrotters Herbert and Nathaniel, father and son Gary and Matt and dating couples Mika and Canaan and Marcy and Ron. And there you have it my top team picks after the first episode. Questions: Was the speed bump too easy? Could you have eaten the wasabi bomb in two minutes? Are you a Duck Whisperer? Who are your favorite teams?

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Survivor: Soma Week 2

Well in week two Russell still is ruling over the yellow tribe and was somehow smart enough to look for the idol and find it without any clues. While I am not a fan of Russell's game play, I have to admit that it is working for him and his tribe keeps voting off the people that dare to go against him. This week that was Betsy and I was sad to see her go. At first I didn't think there would be a tribal for the yellow team after they lost immunity since Mike left for medical reasons after the quasi basketball-tackle game. But once it was revealed that they were still going to tribal no one dared go against Russell and Betsy was gone in a sweeping vote. Russell might be in control of the yellow team but if they continue to loose the challenges it will be a moot point since they other team will be able to pick them off after the merge. As for the purple tribe I still don't have any clues of who I like or don't like yet, although I think Shambo will be the first one kicked off once this team goes to tribal.

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Survivor: Samoa


Survivor: Samoa kicked off tonight with 20 people, 10 on each team and while it is way to early to pick the ultimate winner it is never to early to pick the people you love to hate. And right off the bat 2 people stand out for that prize; Russell H and Ben who just so happen to be on the same tribe. Russell H is trying a unique strategy which is to lie to everyone and mess with his own team by pouring out all of their drinking and burning a teammates socks. It does cause contention but I don't see it as the best way to get to the final 3. Before long people will catch on to what he is doing and in fact some have during the first episode. Then their is Ben. He just doesn't seem to have a filter and it seems like in the end his mouth will do him in. But I could be wrong. The yellow tribe (Foa Foa??) won the first challenge and was awarded fire but the purple team (something with a G?) won immunity so Foa Foa was sent to tribal council where Russell H got ride of Marisa with the help of most of his tribe, although it seems a few don't trust him. Marisa was unfortunate enough to call out Russell on what he was doing and how he was playing the game and that made him see her as a threat and that was the end of Marisa. It seems like the purple team gets along pretty well and works well together and so far no one jumps out of the team as a strength or a threat, but there is always next week!

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Alison Krauss: A Hundred Miles or More

Do you ever find yourself in need of a CD that is simply relaxing? Well if you do, then I have the CD for you. A Hundred Miles or More by Alison Kruass is just that kind of CD. The subject matter of the songs on this album cover every aspect of life but while doing so you can't help but be relaxed by the unique sound of Alison's voice. Once your drawn in my the melodies you start to pay attention to the lyrics and they run the gambit from happy (Sawing on the Strings, Down to the River to Pray) to heartbreaking (Jacob's Dream, Molly Ban) to hopeful (Simple Love, Get Me Through December, Baby Mine). Of the 16 songs on the album I can say that I really enjoyed them all, well maybe not You Will Be My Ain True Love as much as all the others but that might be because it is the one song that seems out of place on the album. Which is not to say that it is not a good song but just not as good as all the others. While the album is considered Country I would say that it is more Folk/Country then full on Country and the only song that screamed Country to me was Whiskey Lullaby and what a Country song it is! This CD is definitely worth a listen to. I have found that I have listened to it all the way through several times and keep coming back for more.

Below is Get Me Through December, one of my favorites from the CD.

Saturday, August 29, 2009

Duplicity

I like Julia Roberts...I like Clive Owen...and you know what...I really liked Duplicity. Due to the nature of the movie I can't go into to much detail other then to say that it is about spies, double crossing, corporate espionage, more double crossing, a complete lack of trust and so on and so forth. You should know that the movie starts out a little slow and it requires that you pay attention to keep track of its timeline that jumps back and forth over a 5 year period. But if you can stick it out you are rewarded with a movie that is funny and will keep you guessing til the very last scene. Duplicity is rated PG-13 and is now out on DVD and well worth a rental.

Sunday, August 16, 2009

District 9

District 9 is defiantly not a movie for everyone. If you are not a fan of Sci-Fi movies or are one who can't stomach typical Sci-Fi violence then you most likely will not enjoy this movie. But if you can get past those things you are in for a very original movie where the aliens are not necessarily the bad guys and the humans not the good guys.


The movie starts by setting up the plot in a documentary like way. We learn that the aliens arrived in South Africa twenty years ago when their ship just stopped working. For 3 months the ship just hovered over the skies of Johannesburg with no activity of any kind until the humans cut their way into the ship to find the aliens malnourished and in very poor health. That is when District 9 is set up as a home for the aliens that over the twenty years becomes a slum and the residents of Johannesburg have had enough. Enter MNU tasked with evicting the aliens and moving them to a new home far away from the humans.


It is at this point that the movie really starts to take shape. We learn that MNU is more interested in the aliens weapons then their well being. The problem is the weapons are bio-engineered only to work for the aliens. Enter Wikus (the perfect fall guy should things go wrong), the man MNU has tasked with evicting the aliens who are called prawns in a derogatory way. While evicting the aliens Wikus comes across one alien who has developed an item that can help him and the other aliens get out of District 9 and return to their home planet. For the sake of those of you who have yet to see the movie I will leave it at that. Lets just say that things do not go as planned for either side.


The reason this movie worked for me is because it touched on so many aspects of human life. I have a feeling that if aliens where to show up on Earth they would be treated very much like those in District 9. There have been many comparisons of this movie to the apartheid in South Africa and that can not be ignored because these aliens really are treated like second class citizens who have little worth. In the end though the movie shows us what can happen if we can look past others differences and work together. District 9 is rated R, mainly for language and gory violence.

Thursday, August 13, 2009

500 Days of Summer


I was talking to my mom about this movie, and when I was finished she said. "This seems like your kind of show." I realized she's right. Movies like this one, usually end up being my favorites. (Juno, Waitress, Amelie.. you get the idea.)

This movie was beautifully filmed. It had an amazing soundtrack. It was super funny. (I was laughing out loud most of the movie.) It had heart. This is probably my favorite movie of the year.

I love Zooey Deschanel, in fact I leaned over to my friend and said if I were to switch places with any celebrity, I really think it would be her. Her facial expressions are the best.

I don't want to say much more, as not to build it up too much, and not to reveal anything. But I loved it. I loved the whole thing, I loved how it was different and the ending was different. It felt like they captured how love really is, and can be. The good, and the bad.

Go see this movie!

Monday, August 10, 2009

The Ting Tings (We Started Nothing)

You know how there are those songs you just can't help but dance to? (American Boy, You Make Me Feel Like Dancing, etc..) Well I found a whole cd that makes you want to jump out of your chair and dance, hum, tap your toes..

The Ting Tings album, We Started Nothing. So many great songs. You will have heard a couple of them from the radio, but some of my favorites are the ones that they don't play. Fruit Machine, and Traffic Light are genius.

I would also recommend seeing them live if you get a chance. We went (for only 12 dollars a ticket by the way) and loved the show. My husband even loved it.

Check it out. I think you'll love it.

Thursday, August 6, 2009

SYTYCD (Finals)

I loved last nights show. A lot of great dances. I think my favorite was the number with Evan and Jeanine. I just thought it was fun. I also really enjoyed all of the solo's.


Evan: I think he is such a great dancer in his own style. I think he is the epitome of "personality" and that's why he has stayed so long. I feel bad that the judges keep giving him such a hard time, I just think it's because he is with some really talented dancers this season, so he sticks out a bit. He is my number four pick.


Kayla: I think she may very well be one of the best dancers, if not the best. But sadly Kayla doesn't have the personality the other's have. And since it's America's favorite dancer, I just don't think the title is hers. AMAZING dancer though. And she was in my favorite piece of the season (Addiction by Mia Michaels) She's my number three pick.


Brandon: Obviously amazing. Meticulous with his dancing. He can do anything it seems. He has an okay personality, but sometimes comes off as a bit cocky to me. Especially last night. But holy cow, his solo. Wow. If it were a competition for best dancer, I think he would win hands down. He is the runner up for me.


Jeanine: Amazing dancer, awesome personality. It seems like everyone loves her. Even Kat was saying how pleasant she was to have around. She seems so genuine. I think she has the total package to win this. This is who I voted for, and who I hope wins.

It's been an awesome season, with great dancers. I am pumped for the fall season!

Friday, July 31, 2009

Alice in Wonderland Trailer

To view the trailer click here.

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

The Bachelorette Finale

Glad it's over. This season felt like an eternity, and by the end I was just glad it was over. My only thoughts were:

- I guess it shows she does care a lot about Ed since she still loves him after those horrible tank tops and short shorts.

- Why was she sobbing when she let Kiptyn go? I get that it's hard, but if you are confident enough to get engaged to someone else, you wouldn't be acting like that I don't think. And I am sure ABC wanted to milk the Reid thing, but if I were Ed and saw the show, I would think "Hmm, maybe she just wants to get engaged, and isn't entirely sure about me."

I just know how sure I was when I got engaged to my husband. I would be sad to say goodbye to someone, but I sure as heck wouldn't be sobbing, and having to talk to someone else to help me decide. Although I can say that I have never been on a show like this, so maybe it's just a lot to take in.

- If Ed makes Jillian happy, and Jillian makes Ed happy, then good on them. I will still be utterly surprised if they end up really getting married. But you never know.

I am a tad conflicted about this show. I wish ABC wouldn't edit so much, and I feel like I don't really see what's going on. I also hate how cheesy they make it and how old people conveniently come back in the show. I get they have to make good t.v., but I feel like it's crossing into soap opera territory. I'm not sure if I will keep watching it. Can't wait for my fall shows to come back and I am loving SYTYCD and am excited I get to watch it in the Fall too!

Thursday, July 23, 2009

So You Think You Can Dance (Top Eight)

Things I loved about last night:

- Ellen! I think she should always be on the show.

- The last three dances.

Things I was disappointed about last night:

- I agreed with Nigel that it felt a little flat up until the army number. I think they are all just getting adjusted to dancing with a new partner.

- I think all of the dancers are extremely talented, but only a few of them are jumping out at me as my favorites.

My favorite solo of the night was Jeanine's.

My guesses for the bottom two's are:

Guys:


Girls:


But honestly, I'm really bad at guessing who will be going home. So really, I have no idea. I do think that all of the dancers are amazing though.

Friday, July 17, 2009

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

I will start off by saying that I really liked this movie and it made me realize that I need to go back and read the 6th and 7th books. The 6th book was easily one of my favorites as it sets up the final book. The movie, while staying mostly true to the book, leaves a few things out and adds a few things the book didn't have. Nothing major and I think this movie followed the book much closer then the 4th and 5th movies did. I really enjoyed the humor in this movie as it off set the darker overall theme of the movie and provided some much needed laughs. The cast, especially the kids, have come a long way from the first movies and while there were cheesy parts (come on who wasn't cheesy in high school?) they really did a great job of portraying their characters. If you are a fan of the movies I think you will enjoy this movie. It is easily one of my favorite of the HP movies (my favorite is still the third) and has everything a good movie needs; action, drama, humor, romance, danger, intrigue, etc. The movie is rated PG but I don't think it was any less dark then the 4th or 5th movies that were PG-13. The end of the movie sets up the final book and final 2 movies well and I only wish that I didn't have to wait another year to see the next one. That's the true sign of a good movie, leave them wanting more!

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

So You Think You Can Dance (Top Ten Dancers)

Evan & Kayla's Dance:

It was okay. I liked Kayla's extension in her legs. I also thought Evan did pretty well. But it didn't get me excited.

Ade & Janette's Dance:

Okay, so week after week I notice this with Janette and always forget to mention it. Janette needs to close her mouth when she dances. It looks like she's catching flies. Obviously that's not a huge deal, but something I notice almost every time she dances. As for the dance it was fun, and had a lot of good elements, but I can't put my finger on just why I didn't love it. I wonder if I was excited for a Tabitha and Napoleon dance, and it wasn't as outstanding as the others. I couldn't tell if I was just bummed about the dance or the dancers.

Jeanine & Jason's Dance:

Wow, it was really good. I really thought the chemistry was there. I think Jeanine is a fantastic dancer. And I think Jason showed a great side of his dancing. I loved the use of the necklace. I really loved the dance, my favorite of the night.

Randi & Kupono's Dance:

I thought it could have been better. I just didn't really connect to it. I don't think the chemistry was there as much as it should have been. I basically thought. Hmm, it was fine.

Melissa & Brandon's Dance:

Fun. Well danced. Seems like no matter who Brandon is with he does well. I have always been a fan of Melissa's and her lines are to die for.

I have no idea who be in bottom tomorrow. Any ideas? Tonight was just okay for me. Maybe it's because last week was so good, that I was comparing the two. I always love the show though. Feelings? Thoughts?

Monday, July 13, 2009

The Bachelorette (Overnight Date Part 2)


I'm going to ask once more. Why in the heck did they have two overnight dates? Why aren't they meeting her family? Jillian, get your priorities straight, and stop leaning in for kisses, and making people promise they'll kiss you if you do things. (ie: "If I climb to the top of this pole, do you promise to give me a big kiss?".. If I walk across the street do you promise to give me a big kiss?)

Kiptyn's Date:


I was cracking up how they were trying to draw comparisons with what their activity for the day was, with their relationship. I thought the date was a tad boring, and can't understand why she can't see he's just luke warm about her.

Reid's Date:


Oh man I like this guy. I seriously don't blame him for not giving her "enough". She was pestering him to tell her he loved her, and say he would move, and everything else. He's probably like "Whoa! Slow down, why are we talking marriage after only a couple of weeks?"

It's like she has to have a proposal or nothing. Maybe she should have stopped with all the making out and found one guy to start a relationship with from the start, so it wouldn't feel like these guys have to decide within three dates.

Also ABC is sneaky.. they made it sound like it was Reid who had the problem in the bedroom.. which brings me to the next date with..

Ed.. E. D. (cough.. er Erectial Dysfunction.. I'm just saying it might have been a sign it was him ;)


Oh man, I have so much to say about Ed. I have always liked him. But I saw a couple of red flags last night..

1. Why was he wearing that heinous tank top and no wonder he had problems down there with those teeny tiny shorts. I don't know if that's a new style for guys, but ehhh.. I'm just not digging it.

2. (and more importantly) Why isn't he looking at her in the eyes when he talks to her? Seriously if you go back and watch it again, you will notice there was minimal eye contact. And call me crazy, but I would need some of that.

I think the thing she likes so much about Ed, is that he is saying he loves her and would propose. And you can't force things in a relationship. Sometimes you just have to let them happen. (Unfortunately my cable cut out on the alone time in the suite but I was caught up and it sounds like a horrible thing to have to talk about on t.v.)

It didn't surprise me she cut Reid at the rose ceremony, I think she's a dork for doing it, since it seems like he really likes her.. he just isn't that into cattle prodding. (Do you love me ...zzzzappp... Do you love me?....zzzzaaaap.)

I bet in a classic ABC twist Reid will come back and tell her everything she wants to hear. I also think Kiptyn is going to lay it on the line for her. He's Just Not That Into You. Theories? Ideas?

Saturday, July 11, 2009

TV Preview: V

If Elizabeth Mitchell really is done on Lost at least she isn't gone from TV. I am already hooked on this show and it hasn't even aired yet. Thoughts?

Thursday, July 9, 2009

So You Think You Can Dance

Funnest dance? Wade Robson's

My absolute favorite of the season? Mia Michael's

There was something about that dance that moved me. It was danced beautifully. The expressions on their faces were perfect. I don't know if it's because I have known people with serious addictions, but this dance was just right.

My favorite guy is definitely Brandon. He is meticulous with his movements and I have yet to see him produce anything less than perfect.

My favorite girl is Jeanine. I don't know if she is the best dancer. But I think she has the whole package. She dances beautifully and I love how she gets into her characters. I would love to see her and Brandon do a Mia Michaels and blow us all out of the water.

As for tonight my prediction is that Caitlin and Jason are going home. Do I think they're good dancers? Yes. Do I think they are as on the same level as everyone else? I don't think so. (Ha, I just sounded like Mary Murphy.)

My predictions for the bottom three are: Caitlin & Jason/ Evan & Randi (just because they are always giving Evan crap about not doing enough.. I really like both of them though) and probably Melissa and Ade (because they didn't get super exciting dances)

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

The Bachelorette (not so overnight dates)


We went to Spain last night.

Kiptyn's Date:


Lot's of physical chemistry. No life long connection. Sorry. I think he likes her. I think she likes him a ton more. I think she realizes it too. I think he is looking at this as an opportunity to find someone to date. I think it would be bizarre if he proposed. Their relationship seems to be strictly physical. I think Jillian wants more, and I think Kiptyn wants sex. (I mean not one guy turned down that overnight stay card.. not even Wes as he was making her cry.)
Reid's Date:


I think Reid is charming. He likes her, she likes him. I'm not sure if he can make up his own mind without questioning everything. I fear they would get into a relationship and it wouldn't last too long. I thought they were cute on their trip around the city. And I do have to give Jillian honorable mention for pulling off that teeny tiny little outfit. She has a rockin' body.

Ed's Date:


Love Ed. I think his whole thing with him coming back was staged, but I don't care. I like him. I like how funny he is, and I like that he teases. You have to laugh in a relationship. I think out of all the guys he would be the one to most likely stick with Jill for a longer term relationship. But I'm not sure if I can hear those wedding bells.
Wes's Date:


Heavily edited. But no one can deny that he's a douche. He was acting ridiculous. No wonder she was crying. I love how he tried to hang out over night with her though. He didn't seem shocked when she sent him to the taxi.

The rose ceremony:

NO shock Wes was the one leaving. What was with his comment about having a lot of sex? Awkward much? When he left I was afraid he was going to be rude to her, but he was nice enough to her face. It seemed like they edited his phrase of "The first guy to the top four with a girlfriend." It almost seemed like he said something different. And apparently the girls in Spain are going to get to know him.. so maybe this Laurel is more of a booty call back home? I think he's a douche and I think ABC made him out to be the typical King Douche-ing-ton the Third. I'm just glad he's gone.

The up-coming previews:
Doesn't look like from the previews Jilly is finding love does it? The voice of Kiptyn saying he didn't want to hurt her? Her saying she picked the wrong guy? Sounds like last season with Jason to me. Sounds like maybe she gets rid of Ed or Reid and then maybe picks Kiptyn to be turned down? Also why are they doing two overnight dates?? Hawaii? I wonder if Jillian was like, "I need as much physical time as possible."

So next week they go to Hawaii, and then the following they meet her parents? I'm confused. Didn't they say it ended in two weeks? My prediction for next week is that Reid will have some problems in the bedroom, and she will pick Ed and Kiptyn. Ought to be interesting. My guess of who she picks in the end right now is Ed. Next week I am sure it will change. Does anyone have any predictions or theories??
** On a side note.. did anyone else notice Jillian had a hard time talking at one point.. it almost looked like she got botox or something and was having a hard time moving her mouth.**

Monday, June 29, 2009

The Bachelorette (Home Town Dates)


Wes.. weird.


Jake.. weird.


ABC.. weird.


To be honest.. I hate the drama ABC insists on bringing to the show. Yet, here I am watching it! I think Jillian likes the attention. I mean who wouldn't? But I don't think she is going to find love. I would be shocked if she ended up marrying any of these guys. I'm just not sure if this is the right venue for her to find love, since she gets so caught up in the attention and the making out-ed-ness (ha, I am making up words right and left!)


Reid's hometown date:


I think Reid is funny. I think he's handsome (I also think he looks a little like Matthew Perry.) I'm not sure if they are a match made in heaven.. but I like him. I also think there will be some drama with him next week.


Michael's hometown date:


I think Michael is sincere. I think he's funny. I also think he's young and he fell hard. I felt bad for the guy. But he'll find someone better for him in the long run.


Kiptyn's hometown date:


Wow, next to his sister Jillian seemed a little plain huh? I have my doubts. Obviously she likes him. There is obvious chemistry. I just don't see a long term relationship. But I can see him as a front runner.


Jesse's hometown date:


A little odd. But okay. Obviously she wasn't feeling it as much for him as for the other guys.


Wes's hometown date massacre:


uggh. No more of that dang song! No more drama. No more Wes! I think she kept him to dig deeper, she obviously has more of a connection with my top three faves.. Reid, Ed, and Kiptyn.


Ed's return:


I like Ed. It seemed a bit staged and everyone called that he was coming back, so I think ABC was stirring the pot with Jake, and with Ed. But I like Ed.. so I'm okay with it. And he's a lucky man since he gets to go to Spain. It seems odd he didn't come back before so she could meet his fam, but I guess we'll see where it goes.


My prediction for next week. She finally boots Wes, she keeps Kiptyn, Ed, and Reid. I think there will be some little Reid drama, but she'll give him and little Reid another chance. Did I just write that??! I think you catch my drift.


Any predictions? Favorites? I am kind of okay with this all wrapping up. I would like to see a fresh face.

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

After reading a few mostly negative reviews I went into Transformers with low expectations. I wish I could say that it helped. Don't get me wrong the movie was entertaining and I wasn't expecting Oscar worthy stuff but there were a few things that kept me form liking the movie more then I did. First of all at almost 3 hours the movie was just toooooo long. Once you've seen a few giant robots battling it out you don't need 10 more fight scenes to prove your point, we get it, these robots really don't like each other. Next, while the special effects are amazing a little more attention to detail would have been nice. For instance, I don't remember downtown LA being in Egypt. I mean come on, you have robots that transform into cars and you can't photo shop out LA's skyscrapers? And while I am on the subject, the last time I was in Washington DC there weren't vast open spaces for airplane parking outside of the Smithsonian nor were there mountains outside of it either. Perhaps I have seen to many movies but these little things just chipped away at the movies credibility, a movie about giant robots non the less. Also the movie just felt like it had a whole lot going on, it could have easily been two movies with all the plot lines taking place. There are a few comic characters that break up all the explosions and robot death matches to keep the movie on a lighter footing. But overall it just felt to heavy and in the end this movie fails to live up to the first. While the first movie was just big dumb summer fun this movie seems to focus more on the big and dumb while throwing in a bit of fun, mostly as an afterthought. I am sure the movie will be a monster hit and you will have to let me know if you thought it was any better. Like I said, it was entertaining, it just could have been so much better...and shorter.

SYTYCD (Eliminations)


Tonight went EXACTLY how I wanted it to. I love when that happens. Can't wait to see the new partnership of Vitolio and Karla. Can't wait for next week!

SYTYCD

Can I just tell you how much I love Mia Michaels? I think SYTYCD is so lucky to have her. The way she choreographs movement gets me every time. Amazing. My favorite dance of the night was from these two doing a Mia Michaels routine. I loved the movement, I loved how simple it was, and I loved it's sassy-ness (I am making that a word :)


I also really liked Brandon and Janette's hip hop/rock routine. It just shows how good Brandon really is. And I have to say Janette keeps up with him pretty well.


But the two dancers I look forward to seeing every week are Melissa and Ade. They dance each routine given to them beautifully. I also felt pretty bad for Karla, because I think she was dancing right and Jonathan was lost and that messed her up. I haven't fallen in love with that couple though. For some reason I don't love Jonathan or his dancing.


My predictions for the bottom three tonight are:

- Karla & Jonathan
- Vitolio & Asuka
- Caitlin & Jason

Although I have been wrong a lot this season! Any front runners or predictions?
** Also I saw The Proposal last night and laughed a lot. I would definitely recommend it.

Tuesday, June 23, 2009

The Bachelorette

We start out this episode on a train going through the Canadian wilderness. Which I have to say was good advertising for Canada. I couldn't believe how pretty some of those views were. I liked that they were on a train, it broke up the monotony a little. The first date was a one on one with Robby. The date seems to be going okay, and then she gives him the boot because he's too young.


I think she is suddenly realizing it's getting down to the wire and she really does want to end up with someone to marry. So I can see getting rid of him. And honestly I never really cared for him either way.

Then it was snow shoeing with a group date. This date seemed fun, she and Kiptyn got cozy (as usual) They definitely seem to have the physical chemistry down pat. He gets the rose on the date.

Then it's a one on one with Reid. Who I really like and was glad to see him a little more. The date went well and she kept him. Apparently he's a tad OCD and a tad neurotic. He didn't bug me, and he seemed pretty funny.

Then they had a rose ceremony and she sent home Tanner (um yeah finally) and Jake. It was obvious that Jake wasn't exactly her cup of tea, and she didn't want to string him along by visiting his hometown and then cutting him. Which is nice. Plus, let's be honest.. Jake was a tad cheesy. I don't think he means to be, but some of the things he says are a little too Hallmark-ee for my taste and apparently Jillian's as well.


The only other thing to note is Wes is being a douche. But let's be honest people. No one is out right that weird and mean to the camera. Here's what he's doing (I think it's safe to say) his manager probably told him he needed to me memorable. So he has to play the bad guy to get us all to remember him. I seriously doubt he really is just a bad guy. I mean obviously he shouldn't have gone on the show, but Jillian won't pick him so I'm not too worried about it. And ABC is in heaven with the plot and ratings so I guess everyone wins. Jillian knows how the show can be. And she will figure it out and there will be drama, etc..


It looks like Ed will be coming back at some point, and someone has some issues on the overnight dates coming up.. seems odd they are even addressing that, and it seems like whoever the guy is.. is going to have his dating life ruined when the shows over. Classic ABC. Don't get me wrong.. I watch the show.. so I am contributing to the ratings.. I just wish they would chill on all the hoopla. Just my two cents.

I'm not convinced Jillian is going to find her true love and live happily ever after.. but I guess we'll see. Next week should be interesting. I have a feeling Michael might be the next one to get the boot.

Monday, June 22, 2009

Summer Movie Musts

Okay, it has been a while since I have posted on any movies and since summer has now official arrived (according to the calender anyway) I thought I would list the 3 movies you really need to see this summer on the big screen. Here they are in no particular order.

Star Trek: A reboot of a classic sci-fi series that I must say I never got into. That has all changed with the retelling of the crew of the USS Enterprise. We learn why and how the crew of the ship came to be there and what makes each of them tick. There are also lots of shout outs (I am told) to previous Star Trek shows for those who are not new to the series. A great summer popcorn movie that is really enjoyed best on the big screen.


The Hangover: One of the funniest movies I have seen in a long, long time. You should know going in that this movie earns its R rating mostly via language but there are other parts that are defiantly not for the under 17 crowd. But if you can get over the rating The Hangover pays off with big laughs, and a story that keeps you entertained for its entire running time. You are along for the ride with a group of friends as they try to find their missing friend and remember what happened to them in the process. After getting out of the movie you will be planning your next trip to Las Vegas!


Up: This may be the best movie of the year, it defiantly is so far. The story is king in Up and the animation is amazing. If you don't have a tear in your eyes during the first 10 minutes of the movie you may want to have your heart checked. And yes I know it is "just" a cartoon but really this movie has so much heart and developed characters that you really don't realize that it is a cartoon. Plus it is full of adventure, really it has something for everyone.

Friday, June 19, 2009

Recap on Bachelorette and SYTYCD

I have been feeling under the weather so I'm a tad behind on the shows. I will just give you a quick recap of my thoughts..


The Bachelorette:

- Jillian needs to take it easy on the alcohol. On the snowmobiling date I was cracking up. She could hardly form sentences. When she asked Kiptyn if he liked her, it just made me laugh. If you have ever been around a drunk person, this is exactly what they sound like. Don't get me wrong, tip back a few, but don't get sloppy drunk. I just think she's a tiny girl, and probably can't hold that much alcohol. But to be fair, it looked like they had all had a lot to drink.

- Ed's gone. I loved Ed. But he will most likely come back as a surprise. I really can't blame him, it's not like he had any assurance she was going to pick him in the end, and his job is important too. Especially in this economy.

- I like Reid. I like Kiptyn. As for the rest of the guys, I am feeling sort of blah. At this point, I am wondering if any guys really have a girlfriend, or if Tanner just ran his mouth. And why isn't she cutting more guys?? This is feeling like it's taking forever!


So You Think You Can Dance:

- The night was okay, but wasn't as good as last week. My favorite dance was Sonya's Jazz Routine. It featured Melissa and Ade (two of my favorite dancers)

- My favorite girls at the moment are Melissa and Kayla
- My favorite guys are Ade and Brandon

SYTYCD Eliminations:


- BOO! I really, really liked Ashley. So far this season I haven't agreed with who they cut on the girls. It was a tough elimination considering all of the girls were strong dancers, but I think Ashley did better on her dance the night before than Caitlin. Oh well I still like Caitlin, and think she will do well.

- I kind of figured Max would leave, I agreed with that decision.
- My favorite solo performance was really any of the girls. I thought Caitlin's was really good.

Well that should cover everything I missed. Next week I promise to do better.