Thursday, November 25, 2010

Tangled


My family has a tradition of going to a movie on Thanksgiving and really this is one of the traditions I rather enjoy. This year we went and saw Tangled, the 50th animated movie from Walt Disney. After seeing the previews I wasn't sure what to expect as it seemed to be more in line with movies like Shrek rather then typical Disney movies like Aladdin, The Lion King and so on. Well I can now inform you that I was pleasantly surprised by Tangled and can report back that the previews in no way do justice to this movie. It is very much a typical Disney movie and that is a good thing. Tangled is the story of Rapunzel which is familiar to most. In the vein of previous Disney movies there is something for everyone here, young and old alike. What I wasn't expecting was the musical numbers that used to be the staple of Disney animated movies. The way they work them into the story is perfect and makes you wonder why people don't break into songs more often in the real world, I mean it would make things much more interesting don't you think? There was also a surprising amount of humor in this movie. If you are a fan of movies like The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, Hercules or really any of the great Disney movies from the 90's you will most likely enjoy Tangled. I know I did.

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Modern Family

Modern Family is quite possibly the best show on TV these day. Here is a clip from last season to give you an idea of what you are missing if you aren't already watching.


Monday, September 27, 2010

New Fall TV Shows

I have a confession. I am not feeling this new crop of TV shows. I just haven't been caught by anything this year nor do I find myself rushing to watch the new shows that I have recorded. Of the few that I have watched here are my ramblings.

  • Hawaii Five-O- This is probably the best new show I have watched this year and is most likely the one I will keep watching.
  • Raising Hope- I laughed a few times and I always love the idea of a dysfunctional family pulling together to help each other. I will give it a few more airings to grow on me.
  • Running Wilde- I wanted to like this if only because I have a small crush on Kerri Russell. Sadly I didn't find this show funny or even entertaining. I will give it one more episode but I fear it will be the first show cut from the Tivo Season Pass list.
  • My Generation-I liked the way this show is edited and the story of catching up with a group of high school students 10 years later is intriguing enough. I just fear that there are no likable characters to keep me coming back.
  • Mike & Molly- It has it moments and the characters are appealing enough and while it has heart I fear the fat jokes will run out or just turn cruel. I will give a few more airings to decide.
  • Better With You-The worst thing I can say about this show is that I don't really remember most of it. I don't think I could even name one of the characters. That doesn't bode well.

Like I said I haven't watched too many new shows yet. I still have Undercovers, Blue Bloods and No Ordinary Family to watch but other then that I haven't even recorded any of the other new shows. What say you. Is there any shows out there that you think I should give a chance? Sound off.

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Fall Movies I Can't Wait To See

Here are a few trailers for movies that come out this Fall that I can't wait to see (as well as Easy A which I have previously posted a trailer for.) What movies are you excited to see?











Thursday, August 19, 2010

USA Network Summer Shows


It seems this summer I have been hooked by the shows on USA Network. It started last year with Royal Pains which is a fun mix of comedy, drama, strange medical issues, family issues etc. It sounds strange but really it is just a fun way to spend the summer with out resorting to re-runs and reality fare. I will be the first to admit that the first few episodes of Royal Pains second season left me longing for the first season but after a weak start the show is back to its season one ways and just as much fun as ever. Royal Pains airs Thursday nights.


The next show on USA that caught my interest was White Collar. I had intended to watch this show when it premiered last fall but just never got around to it. Lucky for me USA aired a marathon before the second season started so I was able to catch up and I am glad I did. White Collar is easily my favorite show of the summer. It follow a renowned art thief who is caught by the FBI, twice, and given the choice of going back to jail or working with the White Collar crimes division. This show reminds me of those old detective shows but with the added twist of the criminal working to help the bad guys. This show is well written and gives you just enough of a recurring storyline to keep you coming back while at the same time solving each weeks crime without dragging it out. Do yourself a favor and check out White Collar Tuesdays on USA.


The last show that has hooked me on USA this summer is Covert Affairs. It is a cross between Alias and the Bourne movies. Covert Affairs follows a new CIA agent who is thrown into the spy game fresh from the training farm. Just like Alias we get to travel the world via the spy service but unlike Alias there are no sci-fi elements to keep you scratching your head. This is just like a weekly Bourne movie but with a continuing storyline of a lost love who is the reason young Annie is thrown into the spy world with such little training. Not a bad way to wrap up Tuesdays after watching White Collar.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Movie Trailer: Easy A

Sorry it has been awhile since we have posted. I will be back later with new movie reviews, in the meantime watch this:

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Summer Movie Picks

Is it just me or has this summers crop of movies left you wanting more? But that hasn't stopped me from going to the movies! Here are my quick picks for Summer Movies you should see (or skip)...so far anyway.

  • Toy Story 3: Another Pixar hit, I mean really these people don't know how to make a bad movie. And yes like every other Pixar movie I cried.
  • The A-Team: I don't know if it is because I went into this movie with low expectations or that all the other movies I had seen previously just weren't that good, but I loved The A-Team. I was laughing the whole time. The perfect Summer movie.
  • Knight & Day: Not a bad movie really; it has it moments of fun, action, suspense. Worth a see if only to get out of the heat for a few hours.
  • Prince Of Persia-The Sands of Time: Another movie that I went into with low expectations (It was based on a video game after all!) People either liked this one or they didn't. I liked it. Sure the plot was far fetched (see video game) but it was still an enjoyable escape.
  • Shrek Forever After: Better then Shrek 3 but not much else here to talk about. The only standout was Puss in Boots.
  • Robin Hood: A lot better then I was expecting, plus it was nice to have a movie that wasn't defined and driven by special effects but rather a plot.
  • Iron Man 2: This movie was fine but it just wasn't as good as the first Iron Man. Sometimes you can have too many, long fight scenes. The characters are still fun and I liked Micky Rourke and Scarlett Johansson much better in this then I thought I was going to.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Lie To Me


So on a whim, my husband and I decided to watch a rerun of Lie to Me. It's quickly become our guilty pleasure. Tim Roth makes the show. Sure the side characters are somewhat lovable. And I think Kelli Williams holds her own. But Tim Roth is definitely the big part of what makes this show so great.

Sure the plots can be a little cheesy. Sure it's not super realistic. But it's addicting, and fun. I have never been a fan of CSI, but I get the feeling this would be similar. They are solving crimes, but by interpreting micro expressions, through the Facial Action Coding System, and body language.

Check it out if you get a chance. My husband and I have decided it's the perfect Saturday afternoon show when nothing else is on, and you just want to relax and veg out. If you have a DVR, they are replaying the first season on FX I believe. Otherwise, tune in on Fox.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Mr. Sunshine - Coming this Fall

Based on my snap judgement this may be my favorite new show this fall.


Thursday, April 22, 2010

Movies, Movies, Movies



It's been awhile since I have reviewed any movies and I don't want you to think that is because I haven't been out seeing movies. I do it for you really! So, without further ado here is a quick rundown of the last 5 movies I have seen.


  • Alice in Wonderland- I saw this on in 3D and 2D and have to say I liked it much better in good ol' 2D. The colors seemed more vivid and the movie just seemed more real. As for the movie; I found it quite enjoyable. The story is a fresh take on the story that most of us know from the books or the animated movie. There are some fighting sequences that may be a little scary for the under 6 crowd but otherwise this one is a crowd pleaser.
  • Clash of the Titans- After learning that this was was converted to 3D at the last minute, and because of enjoying Alice better in the second dimension, I saw this one in 2D. This is best described as an adult Percy Jackson prequel of sorts. I say that because I had just read the 1st Percy Jackson book (and seen the movie) and haven't seen the original Clash of the Titans. This movie was okay, nothing great with okay special effects. Worth a rental or dollar movie viewing if you have to see it on the big screen.
  • She's Out of my League- I enjoyed this movie; sure it is crude and predictable but it has a new, relatively unknown cast that do a good job with the material they have been given. I should add a side note that me and my movie companion were the only ones laughing in the theater for the first half of the movie and this might have added to my overall enjoyment of the movie. It was almost like it was an inside joke that only we got.
  • Kick-Ass- This one turned out to be more of a violent action movie then I was expecting and the fact that it has teens and a pre-teen doing, and receiving, most of the violence it is defiantly not for everyone. I liked the movie because it was different from most of the comic book/superhero movies that have come out but if you are turned of by large amounts of violence and language this movie isn't for you.
  • Death at a Funeral- Another remake, this one of a British movie by the same name. Full of laughs and more enjoyable then I was expecting it to be. James Marsden steals this movie and really is the best reason to go see it. I would tell you more but that would ruin the fun. This one does have some low brow humor but overall a good laugh. It made me want to go out and watch the original just to see how close they are in nature.
Well there you have it. A quick take of five movies. Seen anything good lately? Let me know in the comments section.

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

What I'm watching..

Spurred by Eric's post. I thought I would share my t.v. addiction with you too. Like Eric said, without the power of Tivo, none of this would be possible. Especially since I watch most of my t.v. on Sundays, so I have a bunch of shows stored up for me..

Weekly:

Ellen DeGeneres Show. This is my favorite day time talk show, and the only one I actually have set on my Tivo. Sorry Oprah.


Monday:


-How I Met Your Mother
-Dancing With The Stars (I usually just fast forward through most of it.)


Tuesday:


-Dancing With The Stars (results show)
-Lost
-The Biggest Loser
-Glee (Why did this have to change nights??)


Wednesday:


-Modern Family
-America's Next Top Model (Another guilty pleasure. I just love the photography aspect of it. So I usually just fast forward to the pictures and eliminations. I can't stand Tyra and her minions.)


Thursday:


-The Office
-Community
-30 Rock
-The Marriage Ref
-Project Runway
-Models of the Runway


Friday:

I'm at a loss. What do people watch on this day?? Somewhere in here my Tivo records my throw away shows that I watch as background noise while I am doing other projects, like Jessica Simpson's Price of Beauty, and Tori and Dean Home Sweet Hollywood. Yes, feel free to judge, I realize it's weird.

Sunday:

-The Amazing Race

-Celebrity Apprentice (I am addicted!)

I have probably missed a couple shows I watch. But this gives you the gist of my t.v. addiction.

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

What I'm Watching-Television

I said I was an entertainment junkie and here is your proof. The following is a rundown of my weekly TV schedule. Thanks to the magic of Tivo I don't (and couldn't without Mr. Tivo) watch these all during their original air times, but I have listed them by when they air. Please no comments on how I need to get a life, I am already aware of this fact.

Monday
  • How I Met Your Mother-If you have watched since the first season you know why this show is great.
  • The Big Bang Theory-This is perhaps the most consistently funny show on TV
  • Chuck-It fills the void left by Alias but with a much lighter touch.
  • Castle-The cast makes this show and each storyline is tied up nicely by the end of each episode.

Tuesday

  • NCIS-I have been hooked this show since finding it in it's second season. There is a reason this is the #1 show on TV
  • NCIS:Los Angeles-Not as good as the original but it has promise
  • Lost-Best show on TV. Period. I am both excited and sad for this final season to end in May.
  • V-Oh, how I wanted you to be better. I am not giving up yet but this show needs to pick up soon.
  • Parenthood-I like parts of this show more then the show as a whole. Still undecided on whether or not to continue watching.
  • The Good Wife-Best new drama series of the year. Once you start watching you will be hooked.
  • Glee-Moving to Tuesdays next week (like I needed more shows to watch this night) Glee is just fun to watch. Plus it's songs will be stuck in your head for weeks on end.
  • Southland-TNT picked up this show from NBC. It deals with some dark and gritty material but is still a great cop drama that is probably closer to real life then anything else currently on.

Wednesday

  • The Middle-I have only seen one episode but it was funny and earned this show a spot on my season pass list.
  • The New Adventures of Old Christine-Another show that I was late to. This show is always good for a decent laugh or two.
  • Modern Family-Best new comedy of the year. I dare you not to laugh out loud once each episode.
  • Cougar Town-I wasn't sure if I was going to like this show at first, but it has gotten better with each episode.
  • Ugly Betty-Only a few weeks left until this show signs off and while this season has been better then previous seasons I am ready to say goodbye.

Thursday

  • Survivor-The granddaddy of reality shows. I was late to this one but must say that I am enjoying it.
  • FlashForward-I like this show but I just don't feel the need to watch it right away and there is backlog of episodes on my Tivo to prove it. Like V this show needs to pick up the pace.
  • Grey's Anatomy-I think I am watching this one more out of habit then actual entertainment. I like enough of the cast to keep coming back...for now at least.
  • CSI-This year I was able to finally quit the awfulness that is CSI Miami. CSI proves that crime scene dramas can still be good even 9 years in without resulting to murder in space. (That is when I said enough CSI Miami!)
  • Private Practice-Better then Grey's but that's not saying much. This show can get a little heavy handed at times.

Sunday

  • The Amazing Race-Best reality show ever!
  • Desperate Housewives-Still surprisingly fun in it's 6th season.
  • Brothers & Sisters- I love the cast of this show but they need to stop recycling the same old story lines season after season.
  • Life- As a huge fan of Planet Earth I was very excited for Life to start. And now I can say that I haven't been disappointed yet. HD TV's where made for these types of shows.

Okay, that sums up what I am currently watching. Are there any shows that you are watching that you think I should give a try? Disagree with my short take on some of these shows? Sound off in the comments section and let me know.

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Lost


Lost. Yeah this show is totally living up to its name. When the season started I figured we might see what happened if flight 815 never crashed on the island which was Jacks plan. Or I figured we would see what would happen if Jacks plan didn't work. I never thought we would see both. At first I was hesitant of this, I mean this is the final season after all. How will they, or will they, tie these two story lines together? Some of the larger themes of Lost are Fate vs. Destiny, Faith vs. Science, Good vs Evil. This season it seems like those themes are all out in full force and just like in season 1 it seems I have no idea what is going on and who is good or bad. Is Jacob really the good guy here (I still think he is but am having some doubts as of late. See faith!) and is the Man in Black aka Smoky really bad?(Destiny??) I still think he is because so far the only person to live after an encounter with the Smoke Monster was Locke. The same Locke that the Smoke Monster is now calling home. Coincidence? (or Fate?) I think not.
Tonight's episode brought back a lot of season 1 greatness for me. The two bodies in the cave, Jack discussing his daddy issues and being just as confused and conflicted as ever; hence the smashing of the Lighthouses mirrors, (But at the same time part of me thinks that is all part of Jacobs plan. I just wish I knew what his plan was. I have faith that the writers know what they are doing so its all good!) Hurley and Jack out on a mission, Kate doing her own thing, Claire concerned about her baby. It all just makes me want to go back and re-watch season 1. We did find out how Jacob knew about the castaways before the island (the Lighthouse). We also learned that Jacob didn't want Jack and Hurley at the Temple. Could this be because the Lockeness Monster is on his way with Claire, unwilling Jin, and new sidekick Sawyer in tow? Speaking of Claire and FakeLocke, I loved how she called him her friend and stated that it wasn't Locke. I also like that she threatened Kate if she did in fact take Aaron (which we all know she did), this might just be because I have never been on Team Kate though.
On the sideways world side of things I have to say that I like sideways Jack and Locke much better then Island Jack and PastLocke. They just seem to be much better adjusted then there island counter parts. But it seems like Jack recalls his Island life and part of me wonders if this is in fact the reason that they are so well adjusted. The parts of Sideways world I don't care for: Lucky Hugo, he's just not quite as fun as Island Hugo. Plus poor Rose isn't in NY so does that mean she isn't with Bernard? Plus she is still dying. Don't like this at all. If Penney & Desmond and Rose & Bernard don't end up happily ever after I will be sad. I mean come on they are minor characters at least give them this! Then there is Sideways Kate, same as Island Kate just looking out for herself. Somethings never change. I am looking forward to the Sideways episode that finds Sawyer and Juliet together, preferably married and happy and no Kate anywhere in sight.
I wish I could give you thoughts and theories about how this will all turn out. Maybe the castaways will get to choose what life they want to live, Sideways or Island. Or maybe the Sideways castaways will somehow raise the island from the depths since it is there destiny? Or maybe the show will end with both story lines continuing on and letting us choose which one we want to believe is real. I really have no idea and while this was frustrating for the first few episodes, tonight's episode has reminded me that I had no idea what was going on in Season 1 and I loved it. I mean who would have guessed 6 seasons ago that this is where we would have ended up? Not me. And in the end that is what makes Lost great so I am going to sit back and enjoy the ride.

Sunday, February 21, 2010

The Amazing Race 16-2


SPOILER ALERT. Stop reading now if you haven't watch the latest episode.
After this weeks episode I have a new favorite team, the cowboys, Jet and Cord. They owned this leg of the race. From making the smart move about the buses, to llama whispering, to making German pie; this team worked really well. And the best part is that they did it all on their own no alliance needed here.
The same can not be said for the other teams. The brothers acted like brothers and fought the whole race. The detective's keep calling each other baby and I really can't get past it (thanks to the Soup for pointing that out!) The SC models did nothing to improve their image and nothing to make me think they aren't one big mistake from getting the boot. The same can be said for team Big Brother, which I hope isn't true because they are becoming great comic relief. The other teams all seemed to have an okay leg of the race but they way the season has been edited so far makes that a little unclear. Did we even see the father/daughter team complete anything this episode?
In the end the grandma/granddaughter team couldn't over come their slow and steady approach to the race and got eliminated. It is to bad because any 71 year old that can take a kick to the head by a cow and keep racing is okay in my book. At least they seemed to enjoy their time on the race.
Who do you want to see go next? I am thinking it will be the "baby" detectives, they just don't seem to have it all together but maybe their close call this week will change that.

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Lost Theories by Caitlin..

Not really theories, more just questions..

There are obviously religious undertones. At least that's the vibe I'm getting. So..

1. Is Jacob really good? The Lost cynic in me says maybe not.

2. If he is good, does that mean that Latin lady (I forget her name right now.) is the Mary figure? I get the sense that she was pretty heart broken after finding Jacob died.

3. If Jacob is forcing people {against their will?} to come to the island, does that mean he might be the Lucipher/Satan in the scenario.

4. What in the heck is that little kid? My first thought is that it was Jacob reborn or something. Also the fact that he can only be seen when you join forces with the Locke/Smoke Monster is sort of an interesting little plot twist.

5. Why is Ethan, and Ben turning up off the island? Ideas? I'm at a lost. (Ha, pun not intended.) Is it implying that the Island never existed after the bomb that Juliet set off?

6. It's nice to finally find out what the smoke monster is, but is he like the judge on the island or something?

7. What's with the Sayid/Claire drama?

Anyway, I have stayed up way too late catching up on my Tivo tonight. So I am headed to bed, but if anyone has any theories, I would love to hear them. (On a side note, I loved watching Shaun White win the gold tonight.)

Monday, February 15, 2010

The Amazing Race 16

Click here for a recap via EW.


The teams I like so far are:

Team Big Brother
The Cowboys
The Brothers
The Grandma (not so much the Granddaughter)


The team I am hoping stays around for comic relief:

Team SC Models and such as.


What are your thoughts? Who do you want to see win? Or lose?

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Alice in Wonderland Trailer

What better way to celebrate Valentine's Day then with the Queen of Hearts?

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

And The Nominees Are...

Best Picture
Avatar
The Blind Side
District 9
An Education
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Precious
A Serious Man
Up
Up in the Air


Best Actor
Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart
George Clooney, Up in the Air
Colin Firth, A Single Man
Morgan Freeman, Invictus
Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker


Best Actress
Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side
Helen Mirren, The Last Station
Carey Mulligan, An Education
Gabourey Sidibe, Precious
Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia


Best Supporting Actor
Matt Damon, Invictus
Woody Harrelson, The Messenger
Christopher Plummer, The Last Station
Stanley Tucci, The Lovely Bones
Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds


Best Supporting Actress
Penélope Cruz, Nine
Vera Farmiga, Up in the Air
Maggie Gyllenhaal, Crazy Heart
Anna Kendrick, Up in the Air
Mo’Nique, Precious


Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
James Cameron, Avatar
Lee Daniels, Precious
Jason Reitman, Up in the Air
Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds


Best Animated Film
Coraline
Fantastic Mr. Fox
The Princess and the Frog
The Secret of Kells
Up


Sound off in the comments section of who you think should, want, deserves to win. For more on the Oscars click here.

Friday, January 29, 2010

The Biggest Loser (Week 4)


This week was a dramatic one. The red team continued to deny throwing the last two weigh ins. And then they win immunity. The green team falls below the yellow line, and Migdalia leaves.

Here's my thinking on these two teams. The green team comes from a culture where they have to show they are strong and just as good as anyone else. They seem to want to prove to everyone and themselves that they don't need anyone. So I can see why it's hard for the other's to connect with them.

Now, I'm not saying they are perfect little angels, I just think a lot of where the fights are coming from is in the language barrier and they are feeling attacked. But I agreed that Migdalia should go home, just because she stopped wanting to be there, and I think a lot of her wanting to leave was that so she could see her husband before he left the country.

Now on to the controversial red team. Can't stand Melissa. Just can't. I know they are trying to paint her as the bad guy. But I just think she is bizarre. And was obviously lying. It's sad because she just doesn't seem genuine at all, and she keeps making a fool out of herself.


I think they got in over their head after Jillian and Bob called her on throwing the weigh ins and then she wanted to defend herself, and it just went South after that. And her husband just seems out of the loop and it's nice he wants to stand by her, but they're on the show to lose weight, so just do it.

Also it was bull that the red team thought the green team could lose the weight. One more lie to add to their stack of lies. Obviously the gray team was the team to choose, they just wanted them on their side.

Anyway, until next week. Go team gray!

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

The Amazing Race 16 Cast


The newest season of The Amazing Race kicks off on February 14th. Click here to learn about all the teams and pick your favorites and your not so favorites.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Biggest Loser (Week Three)


This week it was student/teacher week. Meaning one of each couple had to be a teacher, who teaches the student (the other person). The student doesn't get to train with the trainers. Only the teachers do, and who then pass it onto the students.

The pink team won who got to pick who on each team would be the student and who would be the teacher. And then for the immunity challenge the gray team won. They not only got immunity, but they could pick one team to swap who was student and who was teacher. They chose the white team.

And the white team was who ended up below the yellow line. The red team however should have been who they picked, because the wife clearly threw the weigh in. There was some heated discussion, because she wouldn't fess up to it. It's just sad, because you could tell she was obviously lying. They ended up sending Maria from the white team home, because she asked for them to keep her son.

This week I thought the pink team acted like ditzes. The red team was a little shady. The green team struggled, but I think a lot of it has to do with their culture, and how tough they are.

My favorites right now are the gray team and the black team. Sam and Koli from the gray team seem to have the right attitude about this, and I love how they work out, and then smack each other around.

Friday, January 15, 2010

The Biggest Loser (Week 2)


The red team won immunity. The white team had a hard week. (and a black eye) But the purple team was the team to fall below the yellow line. Which means Patti got the axe.


It seemed like she was pretty well liked by the group. I still haven't found a favorite team. The red team seem like they might stir up some drama. We'll have to see. Any favorites yet?

Thursday, January 7, 2010

The Biggest Loser (Couples)

In the first show we find two teams being eliminated after a challenge. The yellow team and the blue team. They are being sent home for 30 days to lose weight and then face off against each other. Who ever wins, gets to come back to the ranch. I think I am pulling for the yellow team on this one.


I have to say I like this idea. Get the people who maybe didn't try as hard as the others, or had a harder time. And make them workout hard to get back to the ranch.

The green team won immunity. They seem like fireballs, and seem to be pretty motivated. After a week of working out, the teams got together to weigh in. We see that the twin brother, brown team falls below the line. And everyone decides to send James home. It's the same decision I would make. The guy had bad knees and I think his brother will go further in the competition.


It proved to be a good decision when it's revealed at home he has lost 100 pounds in two month. Wow, for being at home and doing that. I have to give the guy props.


I think this seems like an interesting group of people. I don't really have any front running favorites right now. But I like how hard everyone is working.

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Better Off Ted

Are you still not watching Better Off Ted? Shame on you! You are missing one of the funniest 30 minutes on TV. Feel free to catch up here or here or set a season pass on your Tivo. Now you really have no excuse not to watch, so you better be watching.

Sunday, January 3, 2010

Eric's Top 10 Movies of 2009

My favorite movie of 2009 was...Star Trek. As Caity said about 500 Days of Summer; Star Trek was just my kind of movie. It kept me entertained from beginning to end and even brought be back to the the theater for seconds, and thirds...and well you get the point.


Biggest disappointment of 2009...Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. I just expected this movie to be so much better.

My ten favorites from 2009...


1. Star Trek- Best reboot of any movie franchise every (Sorry James Bond). I can't wait for the next one.


2. Up- This movie had the most heart and the most original story of any movie this year. It just happened to be in cartoon form, which I think just adds to its greatness.


3. The Hangover- I have been informed that this is the ultimate boy movie. That may be true but it had me laughing throughout. It might have been rude and crude but it was also very funny and touching. Just like life can be.


4. 500 Days of Summer- "This is a story of boy meets girl" and you would be hard pressed to find a better story. The way this story is told (out of order) is great as is the cast, especially the two leads.


5. The Blind Side- Another movie with a lot of heart and the fact that it's based on a true story makes it that much better. Sandra Bullock is great in this movie and really shows off that she can act.


6. District 9- The second sci-fi movie to make my list this year. I liked that this movie was not afraid to make humans the bad guys and aliens the victims. Yet at the same time you are rooting for both sides.


7. State of Play- A great thriller that isn't all about action (not that there's anything wrong with that). Here the plot is king and the twist and turns are every which way. It kept me thinking all the way to the end.


8. Sherlock Holmes- Who knew that adding a bunch of action to a literary classic would be so much fun?


9. The Proposal- This movie was just silly fun. Plus you get to see (and laugh out loud with) the always enjoyable Betty White.


10. Avatar- This is a last minute addition to the list. I kept going back and forth on this movie because of it's long running time (3 hours) and somewhat predictable story (It reminded me of an old western, only set on a different planet). But the visual achievements were enough to sway me to give it the number 10 spot. It really is a feast for the eyes and the best movie I have seen in 3D. The TV spots do not do this movie justice.